Site Map Icon
RSS Feed icon
 
 
 

Today in Labor History

May 21, 1945
The “Little Wagner Act” is signed in Hawaii, guaranteeing pineapple and sugar workers the right to bargain collectively. After negotiations failed, a successful 79-day strike shut down 33 of the territory’s 34 plantations and brought higher wages and a 40-hour week.

- Union Communication Services

Member Login
Username:

Password:


Not registered yet?
Click Here to sign-up

Forgot Your Login?
  Member Resources  
     
UnionActive Newswire
 
Join the Newswire!
Updated: May. 21 (18:05)

Congress to Privatize the VA
Charlotte Area Local APWU
SHAP Bluetooth Speaker Policy
UAW Local 1700
Columbia County UPSEU Members Ratify 4 Year Contract by a Landslide
UPSEU
TWU International Equity Related Update
TWU Local 568
One Second After The Union Is Decertified - Fatigue Protections Disappear
IBT Local 1108
A Note from the Business Agents 5/21/2018
IATSE Local 33
 
     
News Items - August /September 2013
Posted On: Nov 01, 2013

UC2 drivers, day center aides, residential aides unite for justice
Sept. 25, 2013 | Workers employed by Unified Community Connections (UC2) who serve children and adults with varying disabilities came together Saturday, Sept. 21, 2013, at the Union Hall to celebrate their recent affiliation with the Union, build unity, and discuss strategies for winning first contracts. On hand to address the workers were Secretary-Treasurer and Chief Negotiator Sean Cedenio, NAACP/Baltimore Chapter President Tessa Hill-Aston, Trustee/Organizer Moses Jackson, and IBT organizer Katie Finn.

Reminder! New Maryland cell phone, seat belt laws in effect Oct. 1
Sept. 27, 2013 | Effective Tuesday, October 1, if you are caught driving while talking on your hand-held cell phone, you will be pulled over and issued a $75 ticket. Previously, police could only ticket a driver for cell phone use if the driver was stopped for a primary offense, such as speeding. Maryland's new get-tough law upgrades the state's existing hand-held cell phone law to primary status. A second offense will cost you $125, a third and subsequent offenses, $175. Additionally, the new seat belt law requires all passengers to wear a seat belt while traveling in the backseat of any vehicle. It is a secondary law and carries a $50 fine. (The primary law covers an unrestrained driver and/or passenger in the front seat.)


 
 
Teamsters local 570
Copyright © 2018, All Rights Reserved.
Powered By UnionActive™

745707 hits since May 20, 2010
Visit Unions-America.com!

Top of Page image